First Time Fiberglassing.

Discussion in 'Subwoofer Box and Custom Fabrication' started by csiple, Jun 6, 2004.

1. csiple

csiple Full Member

This is my first time trying to post with images so im not sure if it will work. The preview doesn't seem to work for images or I have done something wrong. :p

This is my attempt at door pods
    [​IMG]

Another angle
    [​IMG]

Here is where the problems begin. I wrapped the fleese around the bottom mold this is how I though it was suppose to be done.
    [​IMG]

This is after a lot of sanding...
    [​IMG]

As of right now I think I might have to start over. The bottom was molded to the door but now it doesn't seem to fit quite right. Before I wrapped with fleese and resin'd the mold seemed to fit pretty good but now even after sanding it seems as if its no use.

Just thought I would share...

2. fugyaself

fugyaself Full Member

Save yourself the trouble of starting over and make a mold of your door where you want it to go. Then attach what you already have to it.

Or you could just make the mold and then build off it.

3. Steven Kephart

Steven Kephart Full Member

Or you could make what you have work with body filler. This is how I got my head unit enclosure to mold perfectly with the dash. What you do is apply tape over the door. Then place the pods on the doors where you want them. Now mix up a lot of body filler and apply it around the edge of the pod where it meets the door. Make sure the filler is pushed under the pod so it is thick. When it get's too thin, it can break. Also be sure you apply it farther than you need. You can always sand off the excess later. Now let it harden. Remove it and start to sand the sides, molding them how you want them to look. What you will get is an edge all around that will mold perfectly with the door.