A little help please...

Discussion in 'Automotive Electrical' started by damuworld, Sep 7, 2010.

1. damuworld

damuworld Member

I'm new to this big bass thing, but I've recently purchased 8 12" 2 ohm kicker l7s and two 2500.1 amps and I have a few ?s...A. is there enough watts for my woofers?
    B. How do I power up my amps?
    C. How should I wire up my woofers?

2. TheViking

TheViking Well-Known Member

2500.1 amps???? who makes em and what is the wattage? I am guessing they are "big" amps.....if so we need to go a bit further in this

And let this be known....you can run 50 subwoofers off of 10 watts of power...so the only real question to you is this....do you want to drive these speakers to the limits of there capacity?

3. ericj

ericj Full Member

They're Kicker Class D 1-channel amps that can be run at 2 or 4 ohm that output around 1200-1500 watts RMS, IIRC. I don't think the 2500.1 is 1 ohm stable.

I hope you have an upgraded electrical system to run these beasts.

Since the L7s are dual 2 ohm subs, I think your only choice with this amp/sub combo is to run 4 subs to each amp. If you wire the voice coils in parallel and the subs in series, each amp will see a 4 ohm load. Someone correct me if I'm mistaken.

Last edited: Sep 7, 2010
  4. TheViking

If the amps are 2 ohm stable...then the subs will need wired series/parellel... series 2 subs, then parellel them the second set of subs that are also wired in series. this will yield a 2 ohm load to the amp.

As for electrical systems go...look into our section on the big three....this is the first step. But if your putting all this into a little rice grinder with a little 50 amp alternator and a lawn mower sized battery...forget about going boom boom down the street for more than about 30 seconds on a fully charged battery....You will need a REAL alternator and some back up from a few batteries to do this right....end of story

5. ericj

ericj Full Member