Got A Car Question For You Guys That Know Older Gm

Discussion in 'Car Repair' started by kennyg, Jul 10, 2004.

1. kennyg

kennyg Full Member

OK, I just bought an 84 olds delta 88, with a 307. Now, the engien-compartment is extremely cluttered with stuff that doesn't need to be there, so, I'm gonna get rid of as much of it as possible. Now, I can remove the whole air-pump, and all the lines going to it, right, and block-off, or remove th associated vacuum lines, right? What else can I get rid of? Aparently, it has a heat riser on teh exhaust, can I simply get rid of that, too, or would that actually hurt performance? I'm tryin to just clean it up as much as possible, and see if I can gain any performance/mileage by not having this stuff there. Thanks.

BTW I know I'm a UTI student, but, they don't teach us anything about how to illegally take off emmissions controls stuff, and I've never done it before, so, I dunno what is neccesary to be there and whats not.

2. sandt38

sandt38 Full Member