Accelerating cuts out amp?

Discussion in 'Car Stereo Amplifiers' started by jedijunk, Apr 29, 2006.

1. jedijunk

jedijunk Full Member

I'm relatively new to car audio, and me and a few friends (who know a little more than me) just put in an amp and a sub in my '87 4Runner. Turns out that whenever I accelerate, the amp cuts out - the light actually goes out, so I guess that means it's off. After a few seconds of coasting, braking, or sitting at idle, and the amp turns back on.

We eliminated poor grounding as a problem by grounding the amp to the negative node on the car battery. A multitester showed an increase in voltage when I pushed on the gas, and we're pretty sure that it's this voltage jump shutting the amp down.

I've been told several things by people, such as: a simple device (resistor?) will even out the voltage. I have an alternator problem. Older cars tend to have higher voltages.

I don't know what to believe, and don't really want to go over to a car audio place and get charged for something that I believe is simple!!!

Thanks for any advice anyone can give!

Teddy

PS - I can provide model names/numbers if necessary - when I get home from work.

2. aznboi3644

aznboi3644 Full Member

Wait. You guys grounded the amp to the battery under the hood?

Well what kind of amp is it? What is the voltage jump that occurs when throttled?

Oh and what kind of sub is it?

3. jedijunk

jedijunk Full Member

3 10s, each reading MTX Audio
    Kenwood eXcelon KAC-X401M is the amp. (I can't find a manual online anywhere!)

The story behind the grounding thing: the amp was grounded to bare metal on the frame of the car. My friend said that might not be a good enough ground, so he ran a cable to the negative end of the battery - I dunno - but it didn't work anyway, so it's back to being grounded on the frame.