What should I have my amp settings at

Discussion in 'Car Stereo Amplifiers' started by kenwoodguy, Sep 7, 2010.

1. kenwoodguy

kenwoodguy New Member

Hey everyone I was wondering if any one could help me with my settings on my amp as I am new to this and dont wanna damage my system. Here is the specs on my system...

Car 2000 Pontiac Grand Am GT Coupe
    Head Unit Kenwood KDC-MP638U 50 x 4 Stereo
    Doors Kenwood KFC-1680ie 240W 2 way 6.5 Speakers
    Trunk Kenwood KFC-6980ie 450W 5 way 6x9 Speakers
    Amp Kenwood KAC-7202 920W 2 ch. amp
    Subs 2 Kenwood KFC-W3009 800W 12" Subs

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Brian

2. Klinkster

Klinkster Full Member

The 2 ways are rated 40w RMS and the 5 ways are rated 90 RMS so maybe amping them with a nice 4 way amp will give you a lil more love since the HU is prolly only dishing 20w RMS.

I don't know too much about subs, but I think that Amp you have is a bits small for your subs. Your subs have an RMS rating of 400w yet your amp is only 150w RMS. If it were me, I'd prolly bridge the amp and only use one sub. (but then again, I'm no sub expert, lol)

I see by your name that you really like Kenwood, but its OK to mix it up a little bit. IMO, Kenwood makes some pretty good stuff, but no one company makes every component great. :p

3. TheViking

TheViking Well-Known Member

except old school Orion.............

4. sfhellwig

sfhellwig Full Member